Info Source - Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information


Introduction to Info Source

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

The Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC) is an independent prosecution service mandated to prosecute offences under federal jurisdiction.

If you would like more information on the background of the PPSC, including the organization’s history, its legislative foundation and how the PPSC reports to Parliament through the Attorney General of Canada, please see About the PPSC.

Responsibilities

The principal objective of the PPSC is to serve the public by diligently prosecuting criminal and regulatory offences under federal law in a manner that is independent, impartial, and fair.

Mandate

The mandate of the PPSC is set out in the Director of Public Prosecutions Act. The Act calls on the PPSC to provide high-quality prosecutorial advice to law enforcement agencies and to prosecute matters on behalf of the Crown that are within the jurisdiction of the Attorney General of Canada. For additional information, please see the mandate.

Key Responsibilities

The PPSC is responsible for carrying out key duties on behalf of the Attorney General of Canada in an objective and non-partisan manner as follows:

The Director of Public Prosecution Act provides the Director of Public Prosecutions with the authority to:

Prosecution Responsibilities

The PPSC prosecutes cases under federal statutes that are referred to it by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), other federal investigative agencies, as well as provincial and municipal police forces.

In total, over 250 federal statutes contain offences that fall under the PPSC’s jurisdiction to prosecute. The PPSC regularly provides prosecution services under approximately 40 of those statutes.

The PPSC is not an investigative agency. Where required, the PPSC provides prosecution-related advice to investigators for all types of prosecutions and, in particular, for drug, terrorism, criminal organization, proceeds of crime, money laundering, market fraud, and mega cases.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

As an organization, the PPSC engages in the following program activity to achieve its core mandate of providing prosecution services: the Federal Prosecutions Program. This program is the result of a merger on April 1, 2019, of two previously separate programs: the Drug, National Security and Northern Prosecutions Program and the Regulatory Offences and Economic Crime Prosecutions Program.

A second program activity, Internal Services, is responsible for corporate accountabilities and program support.

Federal Prosecutions Program

This program supports the protection of Canadian society against crime through the provision of legal advice to police and federal investigative agencies, and the prosecution of all cases under federal statutes under the jurisdiction of the Attorney General of Canada including all prosecutions in the three Northern territories. In addition, this program also includes the recovery of outstanding federal fines and involves the promotion of federal-provincial-territorial as well as international cooperation on criminal justice issues of mutual concern.

Departure of the Commissioner of Canada Elections

As of April 1, 2019, with the coming into force of Bill C-76, which amended the Canada Elections Act, the Office of the Commissioner of Canada Elections was transferred to the Chief Electoral Officer, who is responsible for the functions, programs and activities of Elections Canada.

As a result, the Commissioner’s Electoral Compliance and Enforcement Program is no longer part of the PPSC. This program supports the integrity of Canada’s electoral process by mandating the Commissioner to ensure compliance with, and enforcement of, the Canada Elections Act and the Referendum Act.

Records related to the administration of this program are now under the control of the Chief Electoral Officer. As part of the transition, the PPSC will continue to include a description of the records and personal information holdings related to this program for one year.

Internal Services

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Travel and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisitions Services

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfil a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public - internal or external - receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management Services

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resources Management Services

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Information Management Services

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology Services

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal Services

Legal Services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Materiel Services

Materiel Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that materiel can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property Services

Real Property Services involve activities undertaken to ensure real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Classes of Personal Information

Subject Files and Routine Correspondence

Some Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC) programs and activities result in the accumulation of personal information that is not contained in our personal information banks. This form of personal information consists of enquiries concerning particular matters as well as requests for publications and reports. The information is normally retrievable only if specific details are provided concerning the subject matter. Retention of this form of personal information is controlled by the retention and disposition schedules of the subject files in which the information is stored.

Manuals

Additional Information

Per the Interim Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act , institutions are required to post summaries of completed access to information requests to the Open Government Portal within 30 calendar days after the end of each month. This also extends to posting monthly “nothing to report” summary lines when an access to information request was not completed for the given month.

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through informal requests. You may wish to consult the PPSC’s summaries of completed access to information requests to obtain records that were previously released under the Access to Information Act.

To see a list of information that is proactively published by the PPSC on a regular basis, please consult the Transparency section. For additional information about the programs and activities of the PPSC, please Contact Us.

If you would like information on how to submit a formal request to receive PPSC records pursuant to the Access to Information Act or to seek access to your own personal information under the Privacy Act, please see Contact Us (ATIP) under the PPSC’s Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) section.

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act, an area on the PPSC premises will be made available should you wish to review materials on site. The address is:

160 Elgin Street, 12th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario

Date modified:

Info Source - Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux


Présentation d’Info Source

Info Source: Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l’information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La base de données fournit au public et aux employés du gouvernement (anciens et actuels) des renseignements pertinents visant à leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions gouvernementales assujetties à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à les aider à exercer les droits que cette Loi leur confère.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et la liste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels désignent les responsabilités générales du président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) pour ce qui est de l’administration pangouvernementale des lois.

Contexte

Le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (SPPC) est un service de poursuite indépendant chargé d’intenter des poursuites relativement aux infractions relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur le SPPC, notamment l’histoire du Service, son fondement législatif et la façon dont il rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du procureur général du Canada, veuillez consulter la section Au sujet du PPSC.

Responsabilités

L’objectif principal du SPPC est de servir le public en menant des poursuites avec diligence et de manière équitable, impartiale et objective à l’égard d’infractions pénales et réglementaires de ressort fédéral.

Mandat

Le mandat du SPPC est énoncé dans la Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales. La Loi confère au SPPC le mandat de donner aux organismes d’application de la loi des avis de haute qualité en matière de poursuite et de se charger pour le compte de l’État de la conduite des poursuites qui relèvent du procureur général du Canada. Pour obtenir plus de détails, veuillez consulter le mandat.

Principales responsabilités

Il incombe au SPPC de s’acquitter de façon objective et impartiale des principales tâches indiquées ci-dessous au nom du procureur général du Canada :

La Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales confère au directeur des poursuites pénales les pouvoirs suivants :

Responsabilités en matière de poursuite

Le SPPC intente des poursuites en vertu des lois fédérales relativement aux dossiers qui lui sont confiés par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), les autres organismes d’enquête fédéraux et les services de police provinciaux et municipaux.

En tout, plus de 250 lois fédérales prévoient des infractions pour lesquelles le SPPC a la compétence voulue pour mener une poursuite. Toutefois, le SPPC n’offre régulièrement des services de poursuite qu’en vertu d’une quarantaine de ces lois.

Le SPPC n’est pas un organisme d’enquête. S’il y a lieu, le SPPC donne aux enquêteurs des avis relatifs à des poursuites de toute nature et, en particulier dans les domaines de la drogue, du terrorisme, des organisations criminelles, des produits de la criminalité, du blanchiment d’argent, de fraude sur les marchés financiers ainsi que dans le contexte de méga dossiers.

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

À titre d’organisation, le SPPC exécute l’activité de programme ci‑dessous pour s’acquitter de son mandat de fournir des services de poursuite : le Programme des poursuites fédérales. Ce programme est le résultat du fusionnement, le 1er avril 2019, de deux programmes auparavant distincts : le Programme de poursuites en matière de drogues, de sécurité nationale et des territoires du Nord et le Programme de poursuites des infractions réglementaires et des crimes économiques.

Une deuxième activité de programme, les Services internes, est chargée des obligations de l’organisation et du soutien des activités de programme.

Programme des poursuites fédérales

Ce programme favorise la protection de la société canadienne contre la criminalité par la prestation de services de consultation juridique aux services de police et aux organismes d’enquête fédéraux, de même que la poursuite de toutes les infractions à des lois fédérales au nom du procureur général du Canada, y compris toutes les poursuites dans les trois territoires du Nord. Ce programme prévoit également le recouvrement des amendes fédérales impayées ainsi que la promotion de la collaboration entre le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les territoires, et la coopération internationale en ce qui a trait à des questions d’intérêt commun relatives à la justice pénale.

Départ du commissaire aux élections fédérales

Au 1er avril 2019, par suite de l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-76, lequel modifie la Loi électorale du Canada, le Bureau du commissaire aux élections fédérales a été transféré au directeur général des élections, qui est responsable des fonctions, programmes et activités d’Élections Canada.

Par conséquent, le Programme d’observation et de contrôle d’application de la loi électorale sous la responsabilité du commissaire ne relève plus du SPPC. Ce programme favorise l’intégrité du processus électoral du Canada en donnant au commissaire le mandat de veiller à l’observation et au contrôle d’application de la Loi électorale du Canada et de la Loi référendaire.

Les documents relatifs à l’administration de ce programme sont maintenant sous la garde du directeur général des élections. Durant la transition, le SPPC continuera d’inclure une description des documents et des fonds de renseignements personnels liés à ce programme pour une période d’un an.

Services Internes

Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Services Acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu'à la passation ou à la modification d'un marché.

Gestion des ressources humaines

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Services gestion financière

Activités visant à assurer l'utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l'analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

Services de communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, bien coordonnées et répondent aux divers besoins d'information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l'évaluation des politiques, des programmes, des services et des initiatives.

Services de gestion de l’information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l'information à l'appui de la prestation de programme et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu'à conserver l'information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu'ils demeurent accessibles.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s'appliquent.

Services de technologie de l’information

Activités dont le but est d'assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l'information, à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre des programmes afin d'accroître la productivité et d'améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services de voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

Services des biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d'assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services du matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Catégories de renseignements personnels

Dossiers classés par sujet et correspondance courante

Certains programmes et activités du SPPC entraînent l'accumulation de renseignements personnels qui ne sont pas contenus dans nos fichiers de renseignements personnels. Les renseignements personnels conservés dans ces dossiers consistent en des demandes de renseignements sur des sujets particuliers ainsi que des demandes de publications ou de rapports. Ces renseignements ne peuvent normalement être extraits que si des détails sur le sujet sont fournis. La conservation des renseignements personnels sous cette forme est soumise aux calendriers de conservation concernant les dossiers dans lesquels les renseignements sont contenus.

Manuels

Renseignements supplémentaires

Conformément à la Directive provisoire concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l'information, les institutions du gouvernement du Canada sont tenues de publier au portail du gouvernement ouvert les sommaires des demandes d’accès à l’information qu’elles ont traitées dans les 30 jours civils suivant la fin du mois. Ceci inclue aussi la publication de lignes sommaires “aucune demande” quand une demande n'a pas été complété pour ce mois.

Le gouvernement du Canada préconise la divulgation d’information au moyen de demandes informelles. Vous pouvez consulter les demandes d’accès à l’information complétées du SPPC pour obtenir des documents qui ont déjà été divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Pour consulter la liste des divulgations proactives publiées régulièrement par le SPPC, veuillez consulter la page Transparence. Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les programmes et les activités du SPPC, Contactez-nous.

Pour savoir comment soumettre une demande officielle afin de recevoir des documents du SPPC en application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou pour consulter les renseignements personnels vous concernant en application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez consulter la section sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) du SPPC et cliquer Contactez-nous (AIPRP).

Salle de lecture

Conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, un endroit sera mis à votre disposition dans les locaux du SPPC si vous souhaitez consulter des documents sur place, à l’adresse :

160 rue Elgin, 12ième étage
Ottawa (Ontario)

Date de modification :