National Prosecution Awards for Top Prosecutors

Federal/Provincial/Territorial Heads of Prosecutions Committee

Winnipeg – October 15, 2012 – The Federal/Provincial/Territorial Heads of Prosecutions Committee has recognized the outstanding accomplishments of two prosecutors, who were honoured at an awards ceremony held last Friday. The award program, instituted in 2006, honours professional excellence, exemplary service, and outstanding achievements.

The awards were presented by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Manitoba, the Honourable Andrew Swan.

The following prosecutors were chosen for their contributions to advancing and promoting prosecutions within the Canadian criminal justice system:

Ms. M. B. Lorraine Préfontaine, Director, Special Prosecutions Branch with the Manitoba Prosecution Service, and Mr. Robert W.G. Gillen, QC, former Assistant Deputy Attorney General of British Columbia, were both awarded the Commitment to Justice Award 2012. Their nominations describe the accomplishments and merit of both prosecutors:

The FPT Heads of Prosecutions Committee brings together the leaders of Canada’s prosecution services to promote assistance and cooperation on operational issues relating to criminal prosecutions. The Committee also provides the prosecution perspective to Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers and Deputy Ministers Responsible for Justice.

- 30 -

Robert Doyle
Secretary, FPT Heads of Prosecutions Committee

(Version française disponible)

Date modified: